Promoting scientific knowledge on fibrinogen

  • What We Do

    Connecting and growing the Fibrinogen research community.


    Promote Scientific Knowledge & Organize Scientific Workshops

    The IFRS functions principally to promote scientific knowledge on fibrinogen and organize the International Fibrinogen Workshops which meet in alternate years. The meetings are open to all investigators and scientists including physicians with a clinical or basic research interest in fibrinogen. These colloquia provide a forum for collegial presentations and discussions of new findings and perspectives. Many collaborations and friendships have been kindled at previous Workshops, and our goal is to continue this tradition. Members of the IFRS receive reduced registration fees for the Workshop, a reduced subscription rate for Blood Coagulation and Fibrinolysis (BC&F). The IFRS Constitution, which was revised in 2010, is available here.


    Growing the Community of Scientists

    Annual dues for regular members are $40. An optional subscription to Blood Coagulation and Fibrinolysis is $401.00 (total for membership and subscription is $441.00). Students can join at a nominal fee of $1 with a written statement of status by their research advisor (email to Marlien.Pieters@nwu.ac.za).

    Early History

    Learn about the beginning and early history of the IFRS

    Founding member Michael Mosesson wrote a delightful essay about the origin and early history of the IFRS. It can be found here.

  • Officers and Council

    Moniek deMaat, Ph.D. (Netherlands)


    Martin Guthold, Ph.D. (United States)

    Vice President

    Marlien Pieters, Ph.D. (South Africa)




    Thomas Barker, Ph.D. (USA)

    Marguerite Neerman-Arbez, Ph.D. (CH)

    Alisa Wolberg, Ph.D. (USA)



    Jaap Koopman, Ph.D. (Netherlands)

    Anetta Undas, MD Ph.D. (Poland)

    Nicola Mutch, Ph.D. (UK)



    Susan Lord, Ph.D. (USA)

    Michael Mosesson, M.D. (USA)

    Leonid Medved, Ph.D. (USA)

    John Weisel, Ph.D. (USA)



    Robert Ariens, Ph.D. (UK)

    Outstanding Investigator Awardees

    2018 - Marguerite Neerman-Arbez

    2016 - Martin Guthold

    2014 - Tatiana Ugarova

    2012 - Robert Ariens

    2010 - Moniek de Maat

    2008 - Russell Doolittle

    2006 - Stephen Brennan

    2004 - John Weisel

    2002 - Susan Lord

    2000 - Leonid Medved & Willem Nieuwenhuizen

    1998 - Michael Mosessen

    1996 - John Shainoff

    Young Investigator Awardees

    2018 - Cedric Duval

    2016 - Brittany Bannish

    2014 - K Mouapi

  • Meetings & Workshops

    June 13 - 17, 2021

    Jongny sur Vevey (Switzerland)

    The 26th International Fibrinogen Workshop will be held at the Hôtel du Léman Conference Center from June 13th to June 17th, 2021. The latest advances in basic, clinical and bioengineering research relating to fibrinogen will be presented by international leaders in the field. The link to the website is here. For more information contact Marguerite.Neerman-Arbez@unige.ch Alessandro.Casini@hcuge.ch or Richard.Fish@unige.ch

  • Join Today

    Online payment options for membership and journal subscriptions.


  • Contact Us

    Any Questions? Contact the IFRS Business Office:

    Martin Guthold, Ph.D.

    Dept. of Physics

    Wake Forest University

    1834 Wake Forest Road

    Winston-Salem, NC 27109-7507

    +1(336) 758 4977

All Posts